//Auge //Retina und Pupille d="M607.27,247a27.11,27.11,0,1,0,27.1,27.1,27.1,27.1,0,0,0-27.1-27.1Z"/>

Opening in 2023

With Space Eye, a very special sensory experience is currently being created in Gantrisch Nature Park near Bern in Switzerland. Besides housing the biggest telescope in Switzerland, the Space Eye Space and Environment Observatory boasts an impressive high-end 8K planetarium, an exhibition area and an adventure trail.

This is where we can learn about astronomy; this is where stories about the cosmos, our world and the environment are told; this is where research becomes a hands-on venture. Designed by star architect Mario Botta, Space Eye is a multimedia events venue for visitors of all ages.

Space Eye invites us to marvel and explore, directing our gaze out towards the universe and back into our darkest past – but also showing us the future, the limitless possibilities, mysteries and dangers that space presents us with both now and in the years to come. Above all, however, time and again Space Eye looks back at us – the observers struck by wonder and admiration. It provides a live view of the universe and up-to-the-minute snapshots of the fields of astronomy, aerospace technology and sustainability. As we turn our eyes to the heavens, Space Eye seizes the opportunity to tell us stories and make research something we can all experience first-hand. It acts as a hub that forges a link between science, technology, creativity and society.

This is where day-trippers and tourists, families and technology fans of all ages come together. Space Eye also offers schools, students and companies an enjoyable range of educational activities and enriching entertainment. It reports on current research projects, inspires young people to pursue careers in the MINT subjects and represents Switzerland as a country of innovation.

Astronaut Claude Nicollier, the first and to date only Swiss person to have travelled into space, acts as ambassador.

Space Eye gets real!

Newsletter

Keep up to date! Receive regular news and updates from the world of Space Eye.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Space
Scientists

This project focuses on the real science of the universe, earth and life on earth. Preserving life on our planet is our fundamental responsibility. This project is of national and international importance.

Professor Claude Nicollier
Swiss astronaut, project ambassador

Trusteeship

As owner of the observatory, Stiftung Sternwarte Uecht is responsible for its operation and for making it accessible to both astronomers and the general public. It ensures the development and operation of Space Eye.

Builder of the Uecht Observatory Dr.h.c. Willy Schaerer founded the Stiftung Privatsternwarte Uecht Dr.h.c. Willy Schaerer in 1982; now Stiftung Sternwarte Uecht (the Uecht Observatory Foundation), in 2022 it celebrates its 40th anniversary. The Swiss pioneer of telescopic technology and passionate astronomer has donated his observatory to the Foundation and entrusted the latter with its further operation.

  • Board of Trustees

    Andreas M. Blaser

    President
    IT and management consultant, co-owner of Blaser Meewes & Partner AG

    Professor Thomas Schildknecht

    Vice-President
    Head of the Zimmerwald University Observatory, Vice-Director of the Astronomical Institute of the University of Bern

    Christine Spicher

    Member of the Board of Trustees
    Teacher

    Gregory Blaser

    Member of the Board of Trustees
    Consultant/delivery manager

    Professor Kathrin Altwegg

    Member of the Board of Trustees
    Professor at the Physics Institute of the University of Bern

    Dr Markus Meewes

    Member of the Board of Trustees
    Physicist, IT and management consultant, co-owner of Blaser Meewes & Partner AG

    Markus Müller

    Member of the Board of Trustees
    Electronics engineer, solar engineer, former helicopter pilot and international aviation expert

    Matthias A. Spycher

    Member of the Board of Trustees
    CEO of Spycher Group Holding AG

    Verena Neuenschwander

    Member of the Board of Trustees
    Osteopath

    Walter Inäbnit

    Member of the Board of Trustees
    Entrepreneur

  • Management Board

    Management Board

    Michael Kropf
    Space Eye Managing Director

  • Advisory Board

    Adolf Ogi, Alexander Pulver, Beat Giauque, Prof. Christian Leumann, Christoph Neuhaus, Christoph Schmutz, Prof. Hans Rudolf Ott, Hans-Ulrich Müller, Katharina Baumann, Matthias Aebischer, Raphael Lanz, Regula Rytz, Dr. h. c. Remo Galli, Reto Nause, Scott Kelly, Susanne Kiener, Prof. Thomas Stocker, Prof. Thomas Zurbuchen, Ueli Winzenried, Urs Gasche, Werner Luginbühl, Prof. Willy Benz

Network

Space Eye operates within a lively network of partners from the worlds of science, business, education and art.

Its proximity to the University of Bern in particular has helped Space Eye to build up an exceptionally wide national and international network. It also cooperates with numerous leading museums and exhibition venues in Switzerland and beyond. In this capacity, Space Eye takes on a central role in the collaboration on and coordination of national research and mediation activities.

Rich research history

Space and Switzerland are a success story. Space Eye strengthens Switzerland as a hub of research and innovation and carries on a long tradition. Over 50 years ago astronaut Buzz Aldrin unfurled the University of Bern’s solar sail on the moon. Since then, Switzerland has contributed to countless achievements and technologies in space. Take the latest expeditions to Mars, for instance. Switzerland has also been a leader in climate protection research for a decade now. Furthermore, as a centre of education Space Eye makes a major contribution to the science and research accomplishments of tomorrow by awakening enthusiasm in children and young adults for the MINT subjects (mathematics, information technology, natural sciences and technology).

  • Unique network with cooperation partners

    Astronomisches Institut Universität Bern, Swiss Optical Ground Station and Geodynamics Observatory Zimmerwald, Center for Space and Habitability Universität Bern, Oeschger-Zentrum für Klimaforschung, Universität Bern Institut für Geologie, EPFL Lausanne Space Center, EPFL Space4Impact, Universität Zürich, Space Hub, Universität Zürich Remote Sensing, ETH Zürich MINT & PEPPER, ETH Zürich FocusTerra, Universität Genf Astronomie (und Observatoire de Genève), Physiscope Universität Genf, Universität Basel, Philosophisch-Naturw. Fakultät, SCNAT Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz, ESA BIC, ESO Supernova München, ARS Electronica Center Linz, Hochschule Luzern HSLU, FHNW Fachhochschule Windisch Nordwestschweiz, Albert Einstein Gesellschaft Bern, Verkehrshaus Luzern, Naturhistorisches Museum Bern, Bern Tourismus, Sonnenobservatorium Uecht, Naturpark Gantrisch, Sternenpark Gantrisch, PlanetS, Swiss Space Museum, Pädagogische Hochschule Bern, Gymnasium Lerbermatt, Stiftung HFSJG

  • Silver partners

    Ursula Wirz Stiftung, LGT Bank, Kulturförderungsfonds Kt. Bern, Emch Aufzüge AG, Stadt Bern, Bouygues E&S InTec Schweiz AG, OBT Treuhand AG, Bürgergemeinde Bern, Bonny Stiftung, MPS Micro Precision Systems AG, Gesellschaft zum Mittellöwen, Mapei SA, Bernapark AG, Gesellschaft zu Zimmerleuten

  • Further partners

    DC Bank, Baumann Elektro AG, Lanowa AG, Gemeinden Regionalkonferenz Bern-Mittelland, Fontes Stiftung, Fondation Johanna Dürmüller-Bol, UBS Switzerland AG, Credit Suisse Bern, Valiant Bank AG, Berner Kantonalbank, Bern Tourismus, Diverse Firmen und Private, Mitglieder des Uecht Sternen Club

Supporters

Join
us!

Why not also support the visionary Space Eye project, which opens up a fascinating world with fantastic opportunities to both scientists and visitors? Together we can create something that’s extraordinary, sustainable and absolutely breathtaking.

Sponsors

Become a sponsor and partner of Space Eye and benefit from an infrastructure that not only allows you to explore outer space but also provides unlimited opportunities for all kinds of events, spectacular exhibitions and special functions for customers.

Donors

Become a donor if you wish to support the development and activities of Stiftung Sternwarte Uecht as a private individual or with your company.

Space Eye
Star Club

Join

Join the Star Club by reserving the star or star sign of your choice for yourself or a loved one. As a member of the Star Club, you enjoy exclusive benefits.

History

As owner of the observatory, Stiftung Sternwarte Uecht is responsible for its operation and for making it accessible to both astronomers and the general public. It ensures the development and operation of Space Eye.

Builder of the Uecht Observatory Dr.h.c. Willy Schaerer founded Stiftung Privatsternwarte Uecht Dr.h.c. Willy Schaerer in 1982; now Stiftung Sternwarte Uecht (the Uecht Observatory Foundation), in 2022 it celebrates its 40th anniversary. The Swiss pioneer of telescopic technology and passionate astronomer has donated his observatory to the Foundation and entrusted the latter with its further operation.

//Auge //Retina und Pupille //Weltraum und Umwelt //Observatorium für

Eröffnung 2023

Mit dem Space Eye entsteht im Naturpark Gantrisch bei Bern ein sinnliches Erlebnis der besonderen Art. Neben dem grössten Teleskop der Schweiz beherbergt das Space Eye-Observatorium für Weltraum und Umwelt ein beeindruckendes 8K-Highend-Planetarium, einen Ausstellungsbereich und einen Erlebnispfad.

Hier wird Wissen über Astronomie vermittelt, hier werden Geschichten über das Weltall, unsere Welt und die Umwelt erzählt, hier wird Forschung erlebbar gemacht. Das Space Eye von Stararchitekt Mario Botta ist ein multimediales Erlebniszentrum für Besucher*innen jeden Alters.

Das Space Eye lädt zum Staunen und Schauen ein: Es lenkt unsere Blicke in die Ferne, ins Universum, in unsere dunkelste Vergangenheit – aber auch in die Zukunft, auf die unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten, Rätsel und Gefahren, die das All uns bietet und bieten wird. Vor allem aber lenkt es den Blick immer wieder auf uns zurück, auf die Schauenden und Staunenden selbst. Es bietet einen Live-Blick ins Universum und hochaktuelle Momentaufnahmen in die Themenfelder der Astronomie, Raumfahrttechnik und Nachhaltigkeit. Das Space Eye nimmt den Blick in den Himmel zum Anlass, Geschichten zu erzählen und Forschung sinnlich erlebbar zu machen. Ein Knotenpunkt, der Wissenschaft, Technik, Kreativität und Gesellschaft miteinander verbindet.

Hier treffen sich Tagesausflügler und Touristinnen, Familien und Technikfans jeden Alters. Dazu bietet das Space Eye Schulen, Studierenden und Firmen ein unterhaltsames Bildungsangebot und bereichernde Unterhaltung. Es vermittelt aktuelle Forschungsarbeit, begeistert auch ein junges Publikum für MINT-Berufe und repräsentiert den Innovationsstandort Schweiz.

Als Botschafter fungiert der Astronaut Claude Nicollier, der erste und bisher einzige Schweizer, der den Weltraum besuchte.

Newsletter

Bleiben Sie stets informiert. Erhalten Sie regelmässig News und Updates aus der Welt des Space Eye.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All-Wissende

In dem Projekt geht es um reale Wissenschaft über das Universum, die Erde und das Leben auf Erden. Der Erhalt des Lebens auf unserem Planeten ist unsere fundamentale Verantwortung. Das Projekt hat nationale und internationale Bedeutung.

Prof. Claude Nicollier
Schweizer Astronaut, Projektbotschafter

Trägerschaft

Die Stiftung Sternwarte Uecht hat als Eigentümerin den Zweck, die Sternwarte zu betreiben und diese sowohl Astronom*innen als auch einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Sie stellt die Entwicklung und den Betrieb des Space Eye sicher.

Der Erbauer der Sternwarte Uecht, Dr.h.c. Willy Schaerer, hat 1982 die «Stiftung Privatsternwarte Uecht Dr.h.c. Willy Schaerer» gegründet; sie ist heute die «Stiftung Sternwarte Uecht» und feiert 2022 ihr 40-jähriges Bestehen. Der Schweizer Pionier der Teleskopietechnik und begeisterte Astronom hat seine Sternwarte der Stiftung geschenkt und ihr die Weiterführung des Betriebs anvertraut.

  • Der Stiftungsrat

    Andreas M. Blaser

    Präsident
    IT- und Management Consultant, Mitinhaber der Blaser Meewes & Partner AG

    Prof. Thomas Schildknecht

    Vizepräsident
    Leiter der Universitätssternwarte Zimmerwald, Vizedirektor des Astronomischen Instituts der Universität Bern

    Christine Spicher

    Mitglied des Stiftungsrats
    Lehrerin

    Gregory Blaser

    Mitglied des Stiftungsrats
    Consultant / Delivery Manager

    Prof. Kathrin Altwegg

    Mitglied des Stiftungsrats
    Professorin am Physikalischen Institut der Universität Bern

    Dr. Markus Meewes

    Mitglied des Stiftungsrats
    Dipl. Physiker, IT-und Management Consultant, Mitinhaber der Blaser Meewes & Partner AG

    Markus Müller

    Mitglied des Stiftungsrats
    Elektroniker, Solartechniker, ehem. Helikopterpilot und int. Aviatikexperte

    Matthias A. Spycher

    Mitglied des Stiftungsrats
    CEO Spycher Group Holding AG

    Verena Neuenschwander

    Mitglied des Stiftungsrats
    Osteopathin

    Walter Inäbnit

    Mitglied des Stiftungsrats
    Unternehmer

  • Geschäftsführung

    Michael Kropf

    Geschäftsführer Space Eye

  • Der Beirat

    Adolf Ogi, Alexander Pulver, Beat Giauque, Prof. Christian Leumann, Christoph Neuhaus, Christoph Schmutz, Prof. Hans Rudolf Ott, Hans-Ulrich Müller, Katharina Baumann, Matthias Aebischer, Raphael Lanz, Regula Rytz, Dr. h. c. Remo Galli, Reto Nause, Scott Kelly, Susanne Kiener, Prof. Thomas Stocker, Prof. Thomas Zurbuchen, Ueli Winzenried, Urs Gasche, Werner Luginbühl, Prof. Willy Benz

Netzwerk

Das Space Eye operiert in einem lebendigen Netzwerk mit Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Bildung und Kunst.

Insbesondere die Nähe zur Universität Bern hat dem Space Eye den Aufbau eines ausserordentlich breiten nationalen und internationalen Netzwerks ermöglicht. Es bestehen zudem Kooperationen mit zahlreichen federführenden Museen und Ausstellungsräumen in der Schweiz und über die Landesgrenzen hinaus. Das Space Eye nimmt damit eine zentrale Rolle ein in der Zusammenarbeit und Koordination der nationalen Forschung und Vermittlung.

Reiche Forschungsgeschichte

Der Weltraum und die Schweiz – das ist eine Erfolgsgeschichte. Das Space Eye stärkt den Forschungs- und Innovationsstandort Schweiz und setzt eine lange Tradition fort. Vor über 50 Jahren rollte der Astronaut Buzz Aldrin das Solarsegel der Universität Bern auf dem Mond aus – seither ist die Schweiz Teil zahlreicher Errungenschaften und Technologien im Weltraum. Man denke an die neuesten Mars-Expeditionen. Auch in der Forschung zum Klimaschutz ist die Schweiz seit einem Jahrzehnt führend. Als Bildungszentrum leistet das Space Eye zudem einen wichtigen Beitrag für die Wissenschaft und Forschungsresultate von morgen, indem es Kinder und Jugendliche für die MINT-Fächer Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik begeistert.

  • Einzigartig vernetzt mit Kooperationspartner*innen

    Astronomisches Institut Universität Bern, Swiss Optical Ground Station and Geodynamics Observatory Zimmerwald, Center for Space and Habitability Universität Bern, Oeschger-Zentrum für Klimaforschung, Universität Bern Institut für Geologie, EPFL Lausanne Space Center, EPFL Space4Impact, Universität Zürich, Space Hub, Universität Zürich Remote Sensing, ETH Zürich MINT & PEPPER, ETH Zürich FocusTerra, Universität Genf Astronomie (und Observatoire de Genève), Physiscope Universität Genf, Universität Basel, Philosophisch-Naturw. Fakultät, SCNAT Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz, ESA BIC, ESO Supernova München, ARS Electronica Center Linz, Hochschule Luzern HSLU, FHNW Fachhochschule Windisch Nordwestschweiz, Albert Einstein Gesellschaft Bern, Verkehrshaus Luzern, Naturhistorisches Museum Bern, Bern Tourismus, Sonnenobservatorium Uecht, Naturpark Gantrisch, Sternenpark Gantrisch, PlanetS, Swiss Space Museum, Pädagogische Hochschule Bern, Gymnasium Lerbermatt, Stiftung HFSJG

  • Silber Partner*innen

    Ursula Wirz Stiftung, LGT Bank, Kulturförderungsfonds Kt. Bern, Emch Aufzüge AG, Stadt Bern, Bouygues E&S InTec Schweiz AG, OBT Treuhand AG, Burgergemeinde Bern, Bonny Stiftung, MPS Micro Precision Systems AG, Gesellschaft zum Mittellöwen, Mapei SA, Bernapark AG, Gesellschaft zu Zimmerleuten, Element AG

  • Weitere Partner*innen

    DC Bank, Baumann Elektro AG, Lanowa AG, Gemeinden Regionalkonferenz Bern-Mittelland, Fontes Stiftung, Fondation Johanna Dürmüller-Bol, UBS Switzerland AG, Credit Suisse Bern, Valiant Bank AG, Berner Kantonalbank, Bern Tourismus, Optega GmbH, B + S AG, Diverse Firmen und Private, Mitglieder des Uecht Sternen Club

Unterstützende

Mitmachen

Unterstützen auch Sie das visionäre Projekt Space Eye, welches sowohl der Wissenschaft als auch den Besucher*innen eine faszinierende Welt mit fantastischen Möglichkeiten eröffnen wird. Zusammen schaffen wir etwas Aussergewöhnliches, Nachhaltiges und Atemberaubendes.

Sponsor*innen

Werden Sie Sponsor*in und Partner*in des Space Eye und profitieren Sie von einer Infrastruktur, welche sowohl den Blick in den Weltraum ermöglicht als auch unbegrenzte Möglichkeiten für Events, spektakuläre Ausstellungen und Kundenanlässe bietet.

Donator*innen

Werden Sie Donator*in, wenn Sie als Privatperson oder mit Ihrem Unternehmen die Entwicklung und Tätigkeiten der Stiftung Sternwarte Uecht unterstützen wollen.

Space Eye
Sternenclub

Mitglied
werden

Treten Sie dem Sternenclub bei, indem Sie sich den Stern oder das Sternbild Ihrer Wahl sichern oder einer geliebten Person schenken. Als Mitglied des Sternenclubs profitieren Sie von exklusiven Vorteilen.

Geschichte

Die Stiftung Sternwarte Uecht hat als Eigentümerin den Zweck, die Sternwarte zu betreiben und diese sowohl Astronom*innen als auch einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Sie stellt die Entwicklung und den Betrieb des Space Eye sicher.

Der Erbauer der Sternwarte Uecht, Dr.h.c. Willy Schaerer, hat 1982 die «Stiftung Privatsternwarte Uecht Dr.h.c. Willy Schaerer», heute «Stiftung Sternwarte Uecht», gegründet. Sie feiert 2022 ihr 40-jähriges Bestehen. Der Schweizer Pionier der Teleskopietechnik und begeisterte Astronom hat seine Sternwarte der Stiftung geschenkt und ihr die Weiterführung des Betriebs anvertraut.